Last updated: May 31. 2013 10:33PM - 298 Views
Lindsay Craven
Staff Writer

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The Yadkin County Board of Commissioners voted unanimously in support of legislative goals adopted by the North Carolina Association of County Commissioners.

Chairman Kevin Austin attended the NCACC conference in January to represent the county and vote on the legislative goals North Carolina would support and present to NC legislative representatives.

The top five goals that were presented during the conference were:

-To oppose a shift of state transportation responsibilities to counties,

-To reinstate average daily membership and lottery funds for school construction,

-To oppose unfunded mandates and shifts of state responsibilities to counties,

-To ensure adequate mental health funding and

-To preserve the existing local revenue base.

A total of 60 goals were approved by the NCACC in areas relating to agriculture, the environment, health and human services, intergovernmental relations, justice and public safety, public education and tax and finance.

Prior to voting, Chairman Austin acknowledged that the board may not agree with every item listed within the goals, but he said he felt that as a whole the goals were a step in the right direction for the state and for the county.

Other important notes from the meeting:

-Commissioners voted unanimously in support of a North Carolina Emergency Management Performance Grant. This grant will provide between $20,000 and $30,000 for the county and requires a 50 percent match, which is covered by the remainder of emergency management salaries.

-County Manager Aaron Church reported to the board that he and Assistant County Manager Lisa Hughes met with representatives at the Local Government Commission debt center regarding the county’s plans for an agricultural center and water systems for Boonville and East Bend. Church said that the LGC gave a thumbs-up on the agricultural center, which could mean that the county would be authorized to go into debt in order to construct the center. The LGC did not provide a definitive answer on the county’s current plan to provide water to Boonville and East Bend because representatives wanted the manager and other officials to revisit it’s action plan and make revisions.

- The board voted to appoint Larry Doub to fill the vacant position on the Board of Equalization and Review. Doub will be filling the seat previously held by Charles Robert Wooten.

-The board voted to reappoint Reggie Pilcher and Marty Casstevens for a three-year term on the Yadkin County Agricultural Advisory Board. Both Pilcher and Casstevens have served one full three-year term.

-The board voted to appoint Lenna Hobson and Bonnie Lasky to serve on the Yadkin County Tourism Development Authority. Hobson is a co-owner of RagApple Lassie Vineyards in Boonville and Lasky is involved in the Boonville STEP program and the Boonville Business and Downtown Development Association.

Reach Lindsay Craven at 679-2341 or at lcraven@civitasmedia.com.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Yadkinville Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com