Last updated: May 31. 2013 10:26PM - 280 Views
Matthew Gorry
Sports Writer

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

EAST BEND - Local teams were well represented when the Mountain Valley Conference released its annual soccer conference awards earlier this month.

Forbush placed a league-high seven players on the all-conference lists after capturing the second overall seed in the 2A state postseason, while Starmount and Elkin had six players honored apiece after receiving berths in their respective playoff brackets.

Robert Cornelius, Jacob Funk, Ryan Miller, Cristian Moreno and Rufy Rios earned all-conference honors for the Falcons, while Osmar Gomez and Aaron Stinson were named honorable mentions.

Starmount, which earned the third 2A seed out of the conference, saw six players honored by the conference.

Jonathan Catalan, Chandler Chappell, Luis Luna and Jacob Shores were named all-conference performers, while Yair Alvarez and Juan Noveron were honorable mentions.

After guiding the Buckin’ Elks to the 1A conference championship, Daniel Cortez, Ashton Gant, Coley McCulloch and Jesus Rivera earned All-MVAC recognition, while Chance Hogan and Josh Johnson were named honorable mentions.

The complete all-conference and honorable mention lists are below:


Craig Alley (East Wilkes)

Pat Archibald (Wilkes Central)

Jonathan Catalan (Starmount)

Chandler Chappell (Starmount)

Thomas Cline (West Wilkes)

Robert Cornelius (Forbush)

Daniel Cortez (Elkin)

Garrett Foster (West Wilkes)

Jacob Funk (Forbush)

Ashton Gant (Elkin)

Frank Ledezma (Ashe County)

Luis Luna (Starmount)

Coley McCulloch (Elkin)

Ryan Miller (Forbush)

Cristian Moreno (Forbush)

Alexis Ramos (Ashe County)

Miguel Ramos (Ashe County)

Rufy Rios (Forbush)

Jesus Rivera (Elkin)

Cesar Ruiz (Ashe County)

Jacob Shores (Starmount)

Ethan Wingler (North Wilkes)

Honorable Mention

Yair Alvarez (Starmount)

Juan Benitez (North Wilkes)

Jason Colop (West Wilkes)

Logan Combs (East Wilkes)

Junior Duran (North Wilkes)

Osmar Gomez (Forbush)

Denis Hernandez (Wilkes Central)

Chance Hogan (Elkin)

Josh Johnson (Elkin)

Tyler Miller (West Wilkes)

William Miller (Ashe County)

Juan Noveron (Starmount)

Jake Shore (East Wilkes)

Aaron Stinson (Forbush)

Cole Susi (Wilkes Central)

Braxton Treadway (Ashe County)

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Yadkinville Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com