Last updated: May 31. 2013 10:23PM - 465 Views
Lindsay Craven
Staff Writer

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Election Day is just around the corner, and those who haven’t voted early will be lining up at the polls on Nov. 6 to cast their ballots.

For those who haven’t been following the 2012 races very closely up until now, this time can be stressful as you rush to educate yourselves before you cast your votes. Here’s a list of the races that Yadkin County residents can expect to see on their ballots on Nov. 6.

Presidential Race:

Barack Obama and Joe Biden – Democrat

Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan – Republican

Gary Johnson and James P. Gray – Libertarian

Voters are reminded that voting a straight ticket will not select a presidential candidate. Voters must select their presidential candidate as this race is voted separately from the straight ticket vote.

Partisan Offices

US House of Representatives District Five: Elisabeth Motsinger (D), Virginia Foxx (R)

NC Governor: Walter H. Dalton (D), Pat McCrory (R), Barbara Howe (L)

NC Lieutenant Governor: Linda D. Coleman (D), Dan Forest (R)

NC Attorney General: Roy Cooper (D)

NC Auditor: Beth A. Wood (D), Debra Goldman (R)

NC Commissioner of Agriculture: Walter Smith (D), Steve Troxler (R)

NC Commissioner of Insurance: Wayne Goodwin (D), Mike Causey (R)

NC Commissioner of Labor: John C. Brooks (D), Cherie Berry (R)

NC Secretary of State: Elaine Marshall (D), Ed Goodwin (R)

NC Superintendent of Public Instruction: June Atkinson (D), John Tedesco (R)

NC State Senate District 31: Delmas Parker (D), Peter Samuel (Pete) Brunstetter (R)

NC House of Representatives District 73: William Stinson (D), Mark W. Hollow (R)

Board of County Commissioners: Kevin Austin (R), David Moxley (R), Marion Welborn (R)

Nonpartisan offices

NC Supreme Court Associate Justice: Sam J. Ervin IV, Paul Martin Newby

NC Court of Appeals Judge: Linda McGee, David S. Robinson

NC Court of Appeals Judge: Wanda Bryant, Marty McGee

NC Court of Appeals Judge: Chris Dillon, Cressie Thigpen

NC District Court Judge District 23: Jeanie Reavis Houston

Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor: Van Hemric

All polling locations are open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. on Election Day.

One stop voting for the general election began on Oct. 18 and will end on Saturday, Nov. 3. This will be the only Saturday available for early voting. Early voting is taking place at the Board of Elections Office at 101 S. State St. in courthouse room 103 in Yadkinville.

Absentee ballots must be received by the Yadkin County Board of Elections by 5 p.m. on Nov. 5.

If you need more information about where your polling location is or whether you are registered to vote call the Board of Elections Office at 679-4227.

Reach Lindsay Craven at 679-2341 or at lcraven@heartlandpublications.com.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Yadkinville Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com