Last updated: February 06. 2014 10:59AM - 1533 Views
By Kitsey E. Burns kburns@civitasmedia.com

Nolan Brown, left, accepts the Citizenship and Service Award from Jimmy Flythe of Duke Energy.
Nolan Brown, left, accepts the Citizenship and Service Award from Jimmy Flythe of Duke Energy.
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

YADKINVILLE — Several community members were honored last week at the Yadkin Chamber of Commerce’s Annual Meeting and Awards Banquet. Despite inclement weather conditions, 120 attendees braved the snow to attend the event held at Tractor Brown’s Museum and Event Center on Jan. 28.

This was the chamber’s 25th annual meeting and Executive Director Bobby Todd said it is an important event for the group.

“We’ve done this every year and we really want to recognize the people who contribute to Yadkin County and the entire Yadkin Valley region,” Todd said. “It was a great meal in a great venue and a good time to look back on the past year and get ready for the new year.”

Chris Hauser of Yadkinville was awarded the Community Service Award for his work with the Impact Yadkin project which provides home repair services to those in need.

The Volunteerism Award was presented to James Vestal of East Bend, who volunteers with several local organizations including Yadkin Christian Ministries, New Hope Pregnancy and New Horizons Adult Day Services.

Mark Brown, pastor of Redeemer Presbyterian in Yadkinville, received the Chairman’s Award for helping to establish the Hands of Hope free medical clinic and work he is doing to create a shelter for victims of domestic violence.

Two newer honors that the Yadkin Chamber awards each year are Farmer of the Year and the Duke Energy Citizenship and Service Award.

The Farmer of the Year award has been presented to a Yadkin County farmer since 2008. Community involvement, sustainability, environmental awareness, innovation and a willingness to educate the public about agriculture are the criteria for the award. This year’s winners are brothers Jeff and Darrell Doub of East Bend.

The Duke Citizenship Award, which has been awarded annually since 2004, was given to Nolan Brown of Boonville. Brown was recognized for his support of the Yadkin Cultural Arts Center, his service of 15 years as the secretary-treasurer of the chamber and his creation of the Tractor Brown’s Museum, where the ceremony was held.

The chamber also recognized its three newest board members, Nathan Lewis with Phillips Van Heusen, Will Proctor of Wells Fargo and Shawn Bright with Yadkin Valley Community Hospital.

As part of the meeting, retired photographer Jim Drum took the reins as the 2014 chairman of the board. Jay Martin, with Nationwide Insurance, will serve as vice chairman for 2014.

Kitsey E. Burns may be reached at 336-679-2341 or on Twitter @ripplereporterk.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Yadkinville Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com