Yadkin proclaimed a ‘Purple Heart’ county

By Kitsey E. Burns kburns@civitasmedia.com

July 23, 2014

YADKINVILLE — On Monday, the Yadkin County commissioners approved a proclamation declaring Yadkin County a Purple Heart County.

The proclamation states that the “Purple Heart is the oldest military decoration in present use” and “there have been many former Yadkin County residents who have made the ultimate sacrifice in giving their lives in the cause of freedom and the veterans who currently reside in Yadkin County contribute to their community in countless ways.” Hence, “Yadkin County wishes to pledge its support for the noble organization of the Military Order of the Purple Heart and for those men and women who so honorably put their lives at risk in service of their country and their fellow citizens” by declaring the county a Purple Heart County.

Several contracts for necessary county operations also were approved at Monday’s meeting including a contract with Republic Services which will provide non-hazardous solid waste collection, disposal and recycling services for the county. The existing contract with Republic Services to dispose of waste at the Transfer Station in the county was renewed and a new contract was signed with Republic Services to dispose of solid waste and recyclables at the eight county convenient stations.

County Manager Aaron Church said the convenient stations will still be operated by county employees, but all trash and recyclables will now be collected by Republic Services.

The main benefit county residents will see from this new contract, which will go into effect immediately, is that recyclables taken to the convenient stations will no longer have to be separated. All recyclable materials will go into one bin.

“The beauty of this is that it will make recycling so much easier,” Church said. It also will save the county money as the more materials that are recycled will mean less trash at the Transfer Station which costs the county money to have taken away, Church said.

Church said the single stream recycling procedure should dramatically increase participation.

Items on the agenda that related to contracts and ordinances regarding the new Agriculture Center were tabled for discussion at a later time.

Tina Love, Sheriff Ricky Oliver, Marcy Mays, Suzanne Kelly, Bill Davis, Brant Wilkins and Bobby Todd were reappointed on Monday to the Juvenile Crime Prevention Council.

The Yadkin County commissioners’ next meeting will be Aug. 4 at 9 a.m.

Kitsey E. Burns may be reached at 336-679-2341 or on Twitter @RippleReporterK.