New Board of Elections members sworn in

Staff Report

August 15, 2013

Yadkin County has a new Elections Board.

The county board now consists of two Republicans and a Democrat: Claude G. Wiseman and Jeffrey J. Smith, and H. Kenneth Alley.

The three were sworn in by Clerk of Court Wayne Dixon who administered the Oath of Office.

Board members nominated Wiseman as Chairman, Smith as Secretary, and Alley will be the Member.

The changes come as the board complies with state statutes that require a reorganization periodically.

Under the “Election and Related Laws and Rules of North Carolina” election law book statute 163-30 new board members are to be selected every two years for two-year terms.

The State Board of Elections appoints the members, who are referred to the state by the heads of each political party in the county.

Each party is allowed three nominations for the open positions. No more than two members of the same party can be on the board at the same time.