Registration closed for Yadkin County mayoral, commissioner elections

August 2, 2013

The filing period to run for any office in Yadkin County has now passed.

Registration has ended and the candidates for the 2013 municipal elections have been released.

Boonville, East Bend, Jonesville and Yadkinville mayoral and commissioner seats are up for grabs in this election year. Yadkin County’s Board of Elections has released the names of a total of 20 candidates who are vying for a seat at the governing table in their respective towns.

Candidate filing began July 5 at noon and ran until July 19 at noon.

All four towns have mayor positions open, with three commissioner positions in East Bend and two in each of the other towns up for grabs.


Mayoral candidates for Jonesville include Jennifer Kirk Dapp, Gene Pardue and Jerry Lee Wood. Lindbergh Swaim, Jonesville’s current mayor, is not seeking reelection.

Jonesville commissioner candidates include Tommy Casstevens, Anita Darnell, and Andy Green. Green is an incumbent.

Current commissioner Danny Lewis is not seeking reelection, leaving two seats open for three contenders.


Rusty Hunter is running unopposed for Boonville’s mayor. Hunter has served as the mayor of Boonville since June 2012 when the previous mayor resigned.

Six candidates are vying for three seats.

Boonville commissioner candidates include David Anderson, Jennifer Wagoner Casstevens, Bonnie Bovender Lasky, Tony Reece, Luke Storie and Gerald Brown, an incumbent.

East Bend

Current mayor of East Bend Larry W. Adams is seeking reelection unopposed, and all three commissioners are running unopposed.

Stewart Maples is running for East Bend town commissioner with incumbents David Frederick and Wanda Spillman Johnson.

Hubert Gregory is seeking reelection unopposed for Yadkinville Mayor.

Kelly Oliver is running for Yadkinville town commissioner, as is incumbent Thomas “Eddie” Norman - two people, two open positions.

All elections are non-partisan.

Janet Choplin, Yadkin’s director of the Board of Elections, said no absentee voting would be done this year. All voters will have to cast their ballots at the polls on Election Day, November 5 between the hours of 6:30 a.m. and 7:30 p.m.

Voters have until October 11 at 5 p.m. to register.

The Tribune will be distributing questionnaires to each candidate to give voters a way to learn more about each person. The returned forms will be published in an issue of the Tribune and online at elkintribune.com.

To best reach Taylor Pardue email him at tpardue@civitasmedia.com. A phone message may be left at 336-835-1513 ext. 15 and he will return your call as soon as possible.